Revenue Administration - Introduction


A Joint Working Group (JWG) on Revenue Administration was established for trade facilitation, combating commercial fraud, curbing tax abuse, capacity building, and modernization of Customs and Tax administrations of IBSA member countries.

1st meeting of JWG on Revenue Administration was held in Pretoria on 20-21 November 2006. Three subgroups were identified to carry out activities in the area of Revenue Administration. They are as follows:

  • IBSA Revenue Administration Working Group (RAWG)
  • Heads of Revenue Administrations Working Group (HRAWG) - highest body with overall responsibility of Group’s work and activities.
  • Revenue Administrations Steering Group (RASG) - acts as a subgroup to ensure technical support and implementation of decisions.

Last meeting of JWG on Revenue Administration was held in New Delhi on 11-14 October 2011.

The key areas of cooperation under JWG on Revenue Administration are –

  • Exchange of Information – A proposal for setting up of a mechanism of exchange of information between IBSA countries on the lines of the already existing Joint international Tax Shelter Information Centre (JITSIC), a web based IBSA Centre for Exchange of Tax Information (IBSA CETI) has been developed.
  • Risk Profiling, Assessment and Computerization in Tax Administration
  • Transfer Pricing and International Taxation
  • Capacity Building
  • Mechanism for Joint Audit
  • Revenue Forecasting and Modeling
  • Investigation Techniques and Trends

An Agreement on Customs and Tax Administration Cooperation was signed on 17 October 2007. A Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) for creation of IBSA Centre for the Exchange of Tax Information (IBSA CETI) was signed in Brazil on 7 October 2010.

Disclaimer: This Site is designed and hosted by National Informatics Centre, Ministry of Communications & Information Technology, Government of India, and the contents are provided by:
MER Division, Ministry of External Affairs and Director (MER) Room No. 1101, Ph:49015417, email Id:, Jawaharlal Nehru Bhawan, Ministry of External Affairs, New Delhi-110011