Press Statement on the Non-Permanent Members Election of the UNSC - New York - 12 October 2010

The Permanent Representatives of India, H.E. Mr Hardeep Singh Puri; Brazil, H.E. Ms Maria Luiza Ribeiro Viotti; and South Africa, H.E. Mr Baso Sangqu have taken note of the historic occasion in 2011 in which all three IBSA countries will serve in the UN Security Council following the election of India and South Africa to the Security Council as non-permanent members on 12 October 2010, and the election of Brazil in 2009.

The Representatives noted that as countries from the global South, India, Brazil and South Africa will, as a highest priority, promote the principles and objectives of the South on the UN Security Council including to work to make the Security Council more transparent in its working methods.

The Permanent Representatives reiterated the statement issued by the Ministers of IBSA on 25 September 2010, during the General Debate of the 65th Session of the General Assembly, in which IBSA reaffirmed its commitment to multilateralism and to increased participation of developing countries in the decision-making bodies of multilateral organisations and institutions. In this regard, IBSA reiterated the urgent need for the UN to be reformed so as to become more representative and reflective of the needs and priorities of developing countries, specifically the UN Security Council.

In this context, the Permanent Representatives reiterated the call of the IBSA Ministers for the urgent need to expand the Security Council in both its permanent and non-permanent categories, in order to increase participation of developing countries. This will make the UNSC more broadly representative, efficient and transparent and would also enhance its effectiveness and legitimacy, as well as the implementation of its decisions.

The Permanent Representatives again stressed their firm commitment to collaborate in the Security Council with the aim of making the Council more responsive and transparent in the execution of its mandate. The Permanent Representatives committed themselves, and their delegations to enhance cooperation in the Security Council on all priority agenda items. One such priority area will be to promote and enhance the Security Council’s cooperation with regional organizations, particularly the African Union’s Peace and Security Council.

Disclaimer: This Site is designed and hosted by National Informatics Centre, Ministry of Communications & Information Technology, Government of India, and the contents are provided by:
MER Division, Ministry of External Affairs and Director (MER) Room No. 1101, Ph:49015417, email Id:, Jawaharlal Nehru Bhawan, Ministry of External Affairs, New Delhi-110011